Posted by: Norm | September 27, 2009

Maybe A Year Off . . .

Chiefs logoI still wear my jersey and cap on game day when I can.  When it gets cooler I wear my hooded sweatshirt.  Yeah, I’m a Kansas City Chiefs fan . . . mainly because I grew up near Kansas City.  The early years of the AFL were made rich by the Chiefs, Raiders, Chargers and Broncos.  Lynn Dawson would have married my wife . . . if her prayers had been answered.  Ultimately, he went to the Super Bowl and I married Gorgeous.  I still think I got the better deal.  He settled for the coach’s (Hank Stram) daughter.

The latest incarnation of the Chiefs is about the worst excuse for a professional team . . . on any level . . . I have ever seen.  I do not say this lightly.  I am usually the first to defend them, hope the best for them and lift up a “hail-Mary” prayer at halftime.

I think I need a year off.  After all, it’s been 39 years since they went to the Super Bowl.  Happily they won it, defeating the Minnesota Vikings.  Those 39 years, and the previous 7, were years when I saw us as contenders or “wait ’til next year”. 

The reasons for my sabbatical are numerous, but mainly I just need a break from Paoli, Haley and the dregs left by the previous administration.  I still love you, Lamar, but you’ve got some employees who are in way over their heads.

Anyone want to suggest a replacement for my sabbatical?  I’m kinda leanin’ toward the Detroit Lions.  They won today, beating the Redskins, to end a 19 game losing streak (since 2007) . . . the Chiefs gave up at half-time to Philadelphia.

James . . . Tim . . . don’t even suggest cheering for the Broncos.  It’s a sabbatical, not adultery!


Responses

  1. No, No, Norm… I must disagree. The Cleveland Browns, (arguably the most storied team in the venerable history of the NFL) are worse than your Chiefs. And, yes, I realize that the original franchise now wears purple and black and has a Rook painted on their helmets. I cannot watch them anymore. When it comes to them, I am apathetic. At least the Chiefs were in the Super Bowl a couple of times (even beat the Vikings in one of them,,,) They’ll come back! The Browns have never been to the Super Bowl, and won’t in the foreseeable future… quite possibly in my lifetime. And if genetics have anything to do with it, I may live to be 99. :^)


Leave a comment

Categories