Posted by: Norm | May 11, 2014

I Don’t Want To Leave Her Now

Dean Martin could do no wrong.  She has every song he ever sang, I think; on CD’s no less.  I almost lost her to Deano.  (“Ain’t That A Kick In The Head”)

Roger Whittaker, famous to his fans, unknown to most of  America, he was a folk singer from Kenya and lived in Great Britain for many years.  I’ve lost count how many of his concerts we attended in a variety of venues over the years.  I almost lost her to this whistling Kenyan. (“The First Hello, The Last Goodbye”)

Don’t laugh at this, this was before we knew some of the things we know today.  Being a pianist herself, she absolutely loved Liberace; his ability to transform a song, to be a grand showman.  I almost lost her to Liberace one night in Vegas.  (“I’ll Be Seeing You”)

She loved Sinatra. He had something that grabbed her deep down.  The rest of us men have no idea what it was.  I almost lost her to Sinatra. (“Something”)

Frank Sinatra said this was “the best love song written in the last 50 to 100 years”.

SOMETHING

Something in the way she moves
Attracts me like no other lover
Something in the way she woos me
I don’t want to leave her now
You know I believe and how

Somewhere in her smile she knows
That I don’t need no other lover
Something in her style that shows me, yeah
I don’t want to leave her now
You know I believe and how

You’re asking me, will my love grow?
I don’t know, I don’t know
You stick around now it may show
I don’t know, I don’t know

Something in the way she knows
And all I have to do is think of her
Something in the things she shows me
I don’t want to leave her now
You know I believe and how

                             George Harrison  


I can say, without fear of contradiction, these men would have been better men if they had known her.  I say that because I am the better man for having known her for over 50 years.  Gorgeous, you are a delight and the reason I can’t wait to greet each new day.

 

Responses

  1. Such a nice tribute to such a special lady!


Leave a Reply

Categories

